Picture
The title for this book isn't something that I would have conceived on my own. I truly believe it was Divine Intervention. I woke up in the middle of the night with this "phrase" running through my head..."A Son for Ibiza"..."A Son for Ibiza"...it almost kept repeating in my head until I wrote it down. It wouldn't let me rest until I did. So, I sat up, picked up my writing journal and jotted it down, having no idea what would become of it. It kept nudging me for the next couple of days. More like a quiet whisper just reminding me not to forget about it. I had no idea what I was going to do with this title., but I found myself looking up the name, Ibiza. I mean, I had never heard of it before, and I seriously thought I was going to write about a girl named Ibiza. However, then it was "whispered" into my ear again that it was about a city. I began researching Ibiza, and was pleasantly surprised with the amazing history of this Spanish Mediterranean Island. I honestly had no idea that it existed. I know, it sounds like I've been hiding under a rock, right? 

During my research, I discovered an intriguing love triangle involving the ruling Sheik, his favored mistress, and his brother. That's when I knew I had to run with that. I knew it was really meant for me to write this story, and I now had an angle and a direction in which to go with the story I was already planning in my head. 
Before, I discovered that juicy piece of history, I was tossing the "lost heir" idea around, but wasn't really sure how I was going to introduce it. When I found my little gem, it was a Eureka moment! I couldn't believe my fortune,

Anyways, it has now evolved into a full-fledged historical fiction about a lost heir, Khalaf, that comes back to Ibiza to claim the throne after being exiled with his mother, Azizah. It has truly been an adventure writing this novel, getting to know my characters as they develop, and especially learning the history and mysterious legends that surround the island, and those that surround Ibiza. It may be a series, if successful, but we shall see. 

Keep following for more installments of the series.  A new one each week!

Stay tuned for next week's...Vol. 2- The History Behind the Fiction




Leave a Reply.