Picture
When deciding upon my characters for the story, I had to maintain the historical attributes, as well as the Arabic culture, for my main characters. I wanted my characters names to have a meaning to them. To me, this was crucial to their development of their story.  I searched for Arabic baby names that symbolized who they were, and sometimes provided an ironic dynamic to them.  For the Sheik, I wanted his name to be literal.  Mutazz means noble, superior. My harem mistress, Azizah, means Beloved one- Which she is... or was until her exile. Muhibb, the Sheik's brother, means loyal--the irony? well, He has an affair with Mutazz's favored harem mistress, Azizah... how loyal is he, now? ;)  I added Khalilah, a minor supporting character for Azizah's maidservant. Her name describes exactly who she is to Azizah...bosom friend, confidante. Azizah trusts her implicitly and can tell her anything, including the trist she has with Muhibb!  Khalilah being so loyal to Azizah, does not give her away to Mutazz, even when he insists. 

While in exile, Azizah discovers she is pregnant, and since this child is possibly the lost heir of Ibiza, his name, Khalaf, means successor or heir!
Now, even though he is not a major character, and not Arabic, but Greek. Captain Aeneas becomes a brief love interest for Azizah.  I came up with the  name, Aeneas, because it is a strong, Grecian name, an epitome of strength and ruggedness. He is a bit of a tragic character himself, but you'll have to read the book to find out what I mean. ;)

Once I had the names, I googled artwork of arabic men and women during the renaissance period, which was close to the time period of my novel. I knew what I was looking for, but did not want to give too much away, so I have a "muse" painting for Azizah, and a suggestive one for Her and Muhibb together, which you see here. They fit with the romance and poetry of the  story, they tell a story themselves, which I loved. The only one I had trouble finding was a Mother/child portrait that resembles Azizah and Khalaf, but that's ok. Having these bring my characters more to life, and makes you want to know more about them....or at least that's my goal!

Stay tuned for next week....The Progression , hopes, and goals for the Novel!





Leave a Reply.